top of page


Updated: 7 days ago

Demystifying yoga and sanskrit terms

“The strength behind communication is in its quality, not in its quantity. Your talk should be that of quality, not of quantity. You should use small sentences which say a lot. Or you should say a lot in small sentences.”

Nadi - What does Nadi mean?

Nadi is Sanskrit word that can be translated as “tube,” “channel” or “flow.” It refers to the network of channels through which energy travels through the body. The number of nadis that the body is believed to contain varies depending on the tradition, but there are three principal nadis that weave through the spinal cord and the intense energy centers known as chakras.

In yoga, asanas, breathing exercises (pranayama) and chanting are among the tools used to help circulate the prana (life energy) through the nadis.

Chakra - What does Chakra mean?

Chakra comes from the Sanskrit cakra, which means "wheel." According to yoga traditions, a chakra is one of seven points in the human body, each responsible for a specific "spoke" of physiological function and emotional experience. Yoga and meditation are a means of keeping all of the body’s chakras unrestricted and open to the circulation of spiritual energy essential for health and emotional well-being.

Chakras make up the subtle elements of the body, the untouchable aspects that, when working in harmony, circulate divine energy and regulate physical and emotional health.

The seven chakras, and the human qualities they represent, are:

Muladhara (Root Chakra) - Basic trust

Svadisthana (Pelvic or Sacral Chakra) - Sexuality and creativity

Manipura (Navel or Solar Plexus Chakra) - Power

Anahata (Heart Chakra) - Healing and love

Visuddha (Throat Chakra) - Expression

Ajna (Third Eye Chakra) - Inspiration, awareness and intuition

Sahasrara (Crown Chakra) - Spirituality and enlightenment

More to come . . .

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page